50 Foot Wave- Black Pearl

50 Foot Wave- Black Pearl

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Fire

Released 6/24/2022

'Black Pearl' is the brand new album from 50 Foot Wave: Kristin Hersh's 'other' band - active since 2003, with fellow Throwing Muses' member Bernard Georges on bass and drummer Rob Ahlers. A sonic trip from the heavy, echoey riff of 'Staring Into The Sun' with all of its grunge melancholy and dronecore menace to the perfectly baroque 'Hog Child' with its spidery guitar that dissolves into motorik bass and drums. Hailed in various quarters as 'an outlet for the material deemed too weird or wild for Throwing Muses', their 'menacing, stalking, spirals of lean, hungry riffs, set alight' as 'feedback rips into the fragile melody.' 50 Foot Wave continue to traverse the rigid tension of their own sound. They remain detuned and discordant at will. 'A group that runs laps around most rock bands' Pitchfork '50 Foot wave are infinitely harder hitting and blunter than anything Hersh has produced previously' BBC Music

Track listing:

  1. Staring Into The Sun
  2. Hog Child
  3. Fly Down South
  4. Black Pearl
  5. Broken Sugar
  6. Blush
  7. Double Barrel