Moonshake- Eva Luna (Deluxe Edition)
Moonshake- Eva Luna (Deluxe Edition)

Moonshake- Eva Luna (Deluxe Edition)

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Too Pure

Reissued 10/6/2023, Originally released 1992

We are excited to get Moonshake’s debut album Eva Luna back in print, and on October 6th, we will release a deluxe edition re-mastered from analogue 1⁄2” tape on double blue vinyl. Our reissue contains 19 tracks which equal the album’s original 10, The non-LP three-song single “Secondhand Clothes”, the two b-sides from the “Beautiful Pigeon” single and four tracks from a November 1992 John Peel session. The release also includes an 8-page full- colour booklet. Following an initial 1991 EP on Creation Records Moonshake then signed to Beggars label too pure. Their debut album Eva Luna was released in 1992 by too pure everywhere except the US, where it was released by Matador. Moonshake was formed in 1991 by David Callahan (vocals, guitars, samplers), formerly of The Wolfhounds, and New York musician Margaret Fiedler (vocals, guitars, samplers). Callahan and Fiedler recorded a demo for Creation Records, and were joined by John Frenett (bass) and Miguel Morland (“Mig”, drums) to record and release the First EP for Creation in 1991 . They took their name from a 1973 single by Can. Both Fiedler and Callahan wrote songs, and they would (generally) sing on the songs that they wrote. Their output of shared inspiration produced wildly different results - Can, PIL, Kraftwerk, MBV, Erik B & Rakim were a melting pot that made Moonshake somewhat uncategorizable, and as Margaret noted in an interview, “Moonshake was a collision - it was supposed to be a collision.” Their debut album Eva Luna took its name from a novel by Chilean author Isabel Allende and the tracks on it are split evenly between the two songwriters. Callahan’s songs are somewhat angry, dissonant, post-punk affairs, while Fiedler’s are just as angular, but her quieter sometimes near whispered vocals compliment her writing partner’s equally. Producer/engineer Guy Fixsen, fresh from his work on My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless, was instrumental in making the album cohesive. This album has been critically revisited often since its original release, with Tiny Mix Tapes describing their sound as “an updated take on Can and Public Image Limited’s rhythmic propulsion with noisier guitar work and a predilection for sampling influenced by The Young Gods.”

Track listing:

  1. City Poison
  2. Sweetheart
  3. Spaceship Earth
  4. Beautiful Pigeon
  5. Mugshot Heroine
  6. Wanderlust
  7. Tar Baby
  8. Seen & Not Heard
  9. Bleach & Salt Water
  10. Little Thing
  11. Secondhand Clothes
  12. Blister
  13. Beeside
  14. Home Survival Kit
  15. Drop In The Ocean
  16. Coming (BBC Radio 1 John Peel Session)
  17. Beautiful Pigeon (BBC Radio 1 John Peel Session)
  18. Sweetheart (BBC Radio 1 John Peel Session)
  19. Mugshot Heroine (BBC Radio 1 John Peel Session)