Big Boys- Where's My Towel / Industry Standard
Big Boys- Where's My Towel / Industry Standard

Big Boys- Where's My Towel / Industry Standard

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Touch & Go 

Reissued 3/29/2024, Originally released 1981

Debut album originally released in 1981 from Austin, TX, punk visionaries, Big Boys, now available on limited edition aqua blue vinyl. The Big Boys got their start in the late 1970's Austin punk scene. The band was fronted by the occasionally cross-dressing Randy "Biscuit" Turner, with Tim Kerr on guitar, Chris Gates playing bass, and a series of drummers - the best known of which is Rey Washam (Scratch Acid). Unlike the rest of the early hardcore scene of the day, they weren't afraid to stray away from superfast tempos in favor of some nice white boy skate funk. Beyond the funk tendencies, the band at times played an early brand of post-punk not unlike their contemporaries The Minutemen. Thanks to their inclusion on some of Thrasher magazine's first "skate comps," the Big Boys were hugely popular amongst the new 80's skate punk crowd. They were also known for the encouragement of crowd participation, breaking down the barriers between performer and audience. They even covered Kool & the Gang, never wavering when venturing into uncharted musical territory. Now y'all, go start your own band

Track listing:

  1. Security
  2. T.V
  3. I Don't Wanna Dance Identity Crisis
  4. Thin Line
  5. Advice
  6. Complete Control
  7. Work Without Pay
  8. Spit
  9. Act/Reaction
  10. Self Contortion
  11. Wise Up