Jonathan Wilson- Dixie Blur

Jonathan Wilson- Dixie Blur

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: BMG

Released 3/27/20

JONATHAN WILSON the critically-acclaimed artist, multi-instrumentalist and producer (FATHER JOHN MISTY, LAURA MARLING, DAWES), spent most of 2017-18 on ROGER WATERS’ epic US+THEM tour as musical director, guitarist and vocalist, singing the DAVID GILMOUR leads. Following the tour, WILSON chose to temporarily leave his Los Angeles-based home and studio and head to Nashville to work with a revered group of musicians and co-producer PAT SANSONE of WILCO, to create Dixie Blur, his most personal, accessible and fully realized work to date. The songs harken back to his Southern roots, both musically and personally. Dixie Blur was recorded at Cowboy Jack Clement’s legendary Sound Emporium Studio with a core group of exceptional players that included Mark O’Connor (fiddle), Kenny Vaughan (guitar) Dennis Crouch (bass), Russ Pahl (pedal steel) and Jim Hoke (harmonica, woodwinds). WILSON and company recorded everything together live with no overdubs, a full 360 from his past methods. The result is a stunning album filled with warm, thoughtful, melody-rich songs that have an immediate impact upon first hearing it and continues to grow with further listening. Following his past solo efforts Gentle Spirit, Fanfare and Rare Birds, JONATHAN WILSON masterfully strikes a balance as he reaches back to the musical foundation of his upbringing while simultaneously moving forward by infusing the music with modern textures and aesthetic soundscapes.

Track Listing:

  1. Just for Love
  2. 69 Corvette
  3. New Home
  4. So Alive
  5. In Heaven Making Love
  6. Oh Girl
  7. Pirate
  8. Enemies
  9. Fun for the Masses
  10. Platform
  11. Riding the Blinds
  12. El Camino Real
  13. Golden Apples
  14. Korean Tea