Amanda Shires- For Christmas

Amanda Shires- For Christmas

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Silver Knife

Released 11/12/2021

On her first-ever holiday album For Christmas, Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter Amanda Shires invites the world into a fantastically warped wonderland of her own making. Though there’s flying reindeer and fallen tinsel and angels serenely plucking harps, Shires’s finespun storytelling sheds light on the kind of holiday experiences and emotions that often go ignored in Christmas songs: the family drama and forced cheer, and elaborate fantasies of escaping off to some far-away tropical island. Mostly made up of original material from the Texas-bred musician, the album unfolds in a selection of piano songs touched with the timeless charm of Brill Building pop—a lovely setting for her luminous vocal presence. The result is a rare breed of holiday music that feels undeniably resonant at any season of the year. "For me, Christmas brings on a bunch of tangled feelings. My intention with this collection of songs was to capture the joy, warmth, lonesomeness, frustration and everything in between. We all have different Christmas experiences and it can’t always be fruit cake and snow angels. Missing loved ones, the good and bad of being with family, lacking cheer, wanting to escape, and wanting something different have all been feelings I’ve had at Christmas at different times in my life. I bet y’all can relate. At the very least, you can hear a bunch of Christmas songs you haven’t heard 200,000 times. They are my gift to you this holiday season. Hear for yourself and thank you for listening." - Amanda

Track listing:

  1. Magic Ooooooh (feat. The McCrary Sisters)

  2. A Real Tree This Year

  3. Let's Get Away (feat. The McCrary Sisters)

  4. Home to Me

  5. Blame It on the Mistletoe

  6. Slow Falling Snow

  7. What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?

  8. Silent Night

  9. Gone for Christmas (feat. The McCrary Sisters)

  10. Wish for You

  11. Always Christmas Around Here (feat. Lawrence Rothman)