Atmosphere- Whenever

Atmosphere- Whenever

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Rhymesayers

Released 3/6/20

For over 20 years, Atmosphere has pursued the underbelly of what it means to be human with a rabid curiosity. Ant's dusky production has provided the pulse for Slug's evolving and matter-of-fact pen. As Slug transitioned from throwing-up-in-the-backseat-raps to holding-hands-when-you-cross-the-street-raps, Ant has grown to be a master of crate digging and unearthing the humanity of a drum loop. Thriving at the intersection of guttural and self-effacing, Atmosphere will go down as some of America's best archivists. On Whenever, the duo continue to move in lockstep. Within the minutiae lie clues they're still struggling with mortality and the need to protect emotional energy, as on previous releases, but there's a quiet romanticism now, with Slug sounding-reluctantly-in love with life. And no other producer can pull truths out of a rapper like Ant fishes the blues out of Slug. The album breathes in the way only Slug and Ant could summon a collective breath. On Whenever, the duo inhale panic and exhale greatness.

Track Listing:

  1. Bde Maka Ska
  2. Push Play
  3. Postal Lady
  4. Love Each Other
  5. Romance
  6. Dearly Beloved (Feat. Musab and Muja Messiah)
  7. The Hands of Time
  8. Whenever (Feat. Gifted Gab, Murs and Haphduzn)
  9. Lovely (Feat. Nikki Jean)
  10. Son of Abyss
  11. You're Gonna Go
  12. The Ceiling