Blatz- Mike Montano

Blatz- Mike Montano

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Zafio

Released 6/3/16

In December of 2013, East Bay Punk chaos-a-teers Blatz played 924 Gilman for a one-time reunion. This limited LP is a document of that show! Mike Montano (a.k.a. Mike-o the Psycho, a.k.a. Mike Filth), the bassist from Blatz’s sister band Filth, had just been diagnosed with aggressive cancer, so Blatz headlined an insanely overpacked 924 Gilman show with the also-reunited Special Forces (legendary East Bay ’80s hardcore led by Orlando “Ox” and Bill Collins). It was a sold-out show and the six original Blatz members—Anna Joy, Annie Lalania, Marshall Stax, Joey Eggplant, and Jesse Luscious—were in the same place playing the same music for the first time in 21 years! Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Gideon Zaretsky, this LP was to be a second benefit for Montano’s cancer treatments, but he died before a final mix was done. Since his funeral expenses were covered, Blatz decided to make this a one-time benefit LP for the place that nurtured their spiky-haired razor-blade dreams: 924 Gilman Street. The record includes all of the chaos-punk favorites found on the Shit Split record with Filth and is pressed on mixed black and oxblood vinyl.

Track Listing:

  1. Homemade Speed
  2. Fuk New York
  3. Blatz to the Future
  4. Nausea
  5. Cockroach Cafe
  6. California
  7. Hustler
  8. Dolly
  9. Lullaby
  10. Chuck
  11. I Don't Care About You
  12. Fuk SHit Up
  13. Berkeley Is My Baby (And I Wanna Kill It)
  14. Learning How to Smile