Brendan Perry- Eye Of The Hunter & Live At The ICA
Brendan Perry- Eye Of The Hunter & Live At The ICA
Brendan Perry- Eye Of The Hunter & Live At The ICA

Brendan Perry- Eye Of The Hunter & Live At The ICA

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: 4AD

Reissued 10/20/2023, Originally released 1999

Some fifteen years after Dead Can Dance’s self-titled debut, Brendan Perry first stepped out on his own in 1999 with the wondrous eight track album, Eye of the Hunter. Having mutually disbanded Dead Can Dance so he and Lisa Gerrard could focus on their own material (a hiatus that would last seven years between live shows and sixteen between albums), Brendan’s debut built on his renown as a solo performer, having often played just he and an acoustic guitar during his band’s otherworldly live shows. Indeed, Dead Can Dance’s first official live album, 1994’s Toward The Within, captures just this with three Brendan solo tracks helping to set the scene for what came next. Backed by the band of Liam Bradley (drums), Glen Garrett (bass guitar) and Martin Quinn (pedal steel), Brendan performs the guitar, a 12-string guitar, mandolin and keys to achieve a rich, gothic sound while the album’s incredible production elevates his vocals to Scott Walker and Tim Buckley levels of delivery; two clear influences, the latter’s ‘I Must Have Been Blind Here’ is thoughtfully covered here. A record that has been out of print on vinyl since its release in 1999, people have been asking for it to be repressed for long enough. Having been remastered at Abbey Road, fans will be delighted to hear that not only is Eye of the Hunter finally being reissued but that it’s also being ex- panded to include Live at the I.C.A.. A true collectible, this extra album has previously only been available on a rare as hen’s teeth promotional cassette, recorded during the 4AD label’s infamous 13 Year Itch residency at the storied London venue in 1993. Chris Bigg’s fantastic art remains front and centre, upgraded to a gatefold sleeve for the LP with the transparent teal coloured vinyl matching the album’s palette.

Track listing:

Eye of the Hunter

  1. A1. Saturday’s Child
  2. Voyage of Bran
  3. Medusa
  4. Sloth
  5. I Must Have Been Blind
  6. Captive Heart
  7. Death Will Be My Bride
  8. Archangel

Live at The I.C.A.

  1. Alone / American Dreaming
  2. Sarabande
  3. Sloth
  4. Chase The Blues
  5. Captive Heart
  6. Happy Time
  7. Don’t Fade Awa