Chris Bell- I Am The Cosmos

Chris Bell- I Am The Cosmos

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Omnivore

Reissued 2020, Originally released 1992

After co-founding BIG STAR, the world only received two tracks of new music from CHRIS BELL during his lifetime—a 1978 single on the Car Records label run by CHRIS STAMEY (dB’s, SNEAKERS) titled “I Am The Cosmos” b/w ”You And Your Sister.” He would tragically be killed in a car accident later that same year. However, those were not the only tracks BELL had recorded in his post-BIG STAR years. In 1974–1975, BELL worked in the famed Château D’Hérouville near Paris, France, and later recorded at both Shoe Studios and Ardent Studios in Memphis. That material arrived in 1992 as I Am The Cosmos to great acclaim, and was issued on LP by Omnivore Recordings in 2017. Due to popular demand, the LP returns in a new pressing on translucent blue vinyl. The packaging contains liner notes from set co-producer Alec Palao as well as Bob Mehr. All ChHRIS BELL projects are being approved and overseen by CHRIS’ estate run by his brother, David. With renewed reverence for his work in BIG STAR, as well as a look back at his earlier work with a biography from Rich Tupica, the stars have aligned. This new vinyl edition of I Am The Cosmos arrives for long-time fans, as well of those who are just discovering the magic of CHRIS BELL • New pressing of this sought after album. • Liner notes from Alec Palao and Bob Mehr.

Track listing:

  1. I Am the Cosmos (Single Version)
  2. Better Save Yourself
  3. Speed of Sound
  4. Get Away
  5. Make a Scene
  6. Look Up
  7. I Got Kinda Lost
  8. There Was a Light
  9. Fight at the Table
  10. I Don't Know
  11. Though I Know She Lies
  12. You and Your Sister (Single Version)