Grouper- Ruins

Grouper- Ruins

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Kranky

Released 10/27/2014

Vinyl LP pressing. 2014 release from singer/songwriter Liz Harris AKA Grouper. RUINS is the follow-up to 2013's THE MAN WHO DIED IN HIS BOAT. Similar to TMWDIHB, RUINS' tracks mostly dates back to recordings made in Portugal in 2011, during a residency from the Galeria Ze dos Bois. The album channels 'a lot of political anger and emotional garbage' she was experiencing at the time, and was recorded using little more than a 4-track, a stereo mic and an upright piano. There's been plenty of Harris-related activity to get into this year, with Harris working with filmmaker Paul Clipson to produce HYPNOSIS DISPLAY, and she also appears on the intoxicating opening track to the Bug's ANGELS AND DEVILS album.

Track listing:

  • 1 Made of Metal
  • 2 Clearing
  • 3 Call Across Rooms
  • 4 Labyrinth
  • 5 Lighthouse
  • 6 Holofernes
  • 7 Holding
  • 8 Made of Air