Delicate Steve- After Hours

Delicate Steve- After Hours

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Anti

Released 7/8/2022

Written and recorded on a white 1966 Fender Stratocaster that reignited his love for the instrument, Delicate Steve's warm and captivating album, After Hours, marks a first for Steve Marion, an earnest, easygoing collection that revels in the simple joys of plugging in and playing. The songs are sweet and breezy here, pairing vintage soul grooves with mesmerizing, wordless melodies, and Marion's production work is subtle and restrained, stepping back in all the right places to let the album's masterful performances speak for themselves. In another first, Marion teamed up with outside musicians on the record, bringing in renowned bassist Shahzad Ismaily (Yoko Ono, Marc Ribot) and famed Brazilian percussionist Mauro Refosco (David Byrne, Atoms For Peace) to help flesh out the arrangements and stretch his sonic boundaries. The result is a dreamy, introspective album built for late night comedowns and deep dive soul searching, a cinematic, escapist fantasy for the wee hours of the morning that draws on everything from Bill Withers and Sly Stone to Pharoah Sanders and Salvador Dali as it explores memory and nostalgia, instinct and intuition, serenity and transcendence.

Track listing:

  1. Playing in a Band
  2. Street Breeze
  3. I Can Fly Away
  4. Now I Know
  5. Looking Glass
  6. Find My Way
  7. After Hours
  8. Artificial
  9. Night Owl
  10. Still Life