Dorthia Cottrell- Death Folk Country
Dorthia Cottrell- Death Folk Country

Dorthia Cottrell- Death Folk Country

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Relapse

Released 4/21/2023

Across both her solo work and as the vocalist of renowned doom band Windhand, Dorthia Cottrell envisions her music as both a document of love and a reconciliation with death. On her album, Death Folk Country, Cottrell wards off death through creation - the most distilled form of love. The spirit of love passed on through her words will be the ultimate reward for earthly suffering. Cottrell's enigmatic presence guides listeners down a path of introspection - Death Folk Country's massive scope touches upon tales of love, loss, and so much more. Cottrell's voice, a quavering alto, fills the emptiest of canyons. Singing in echoing harmony with itself, her voice is a kind of prophecy, bringing home to the present thoughts and realizations from the future, even as Cottrell buries herself in remembrance of the past.

Track listing:

  1. Death Is The Punishment For Love 
  2. Harvester 
  3. Black Canyon 
  4. Family Annihilator 
  5. Effigy At The Gates Of Ur 
  6. Midnight Boy
  7. Hell In My Water
  8. Take Up Serpents
  9. For Alicia
  10. Eat What I Kill
  11. Death Is The Reward For Love