Early James- Singing For My Supper

Early James- Singing For My Supper

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Easy Eye Sound

Released 3/13/20

EARLY JAMES, an Alabama native and the latest signing to DAN AUERBACH’s Easy Eye Sound roster, releases his debut album, Singing for My Supper, via Easy Eye and Nonesuch Records on March 13, 2020. The album spans hard-charging blues, wistful folk, and ages-old pop crooning, anchored by the singer’s voice that oscillates from gravel-gruff shout to a honey-smooth whisper. JAMES’ inspirations run from FIONA APPLE and TOM WAITS to the Southern gothic poets, as heard in the album’s darker themes and in the wry humor with which he writes about them. Early James’ debut features ten wide-ranging songs, co-produced by AUERBACH and David “Fergie” Ferguson, is full of world-weary wisdom. “Blue Pill Blues” details a period when James, who was being treated for depression, quit his antipsychotic medication cold turkey. “High Horse” is a lament of the ways his adolescent excitement faded with the arrival of the vices of adulthood, while “Easter Eggs” finds the songwriter coming to terms with some of the darker sides of his heredity.

Track Listing:

  1. Blue Pill Blues
  2. Stockholm Syndrome
  3. Way of the Dinosaur
  4. Clockwork Town
  5. Easter Eggs
  6. It Doesn't Matter Now
  7. High Horse
  8. All Down Hill
  9. Gone As a Ghost
  10. Dishes in the Dark