Elf Power- Artificial Countryside

Elf Power- Artificial Countryside

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Yep Roc

Released 7/15/2022

Artificial Countrysides is Athens, Ga - based Elf Power's 14th album and first for Yep Roc Records. The band expand their sound on this record to glorious effect, adding marimba, harpsichord, synth bass, distorted drum machine loops, and mellotron to their time tested mix of fuzz guitars, moog keyboards, pummeling drums, and layered acoustic guitars, achieving a satisfying and unique synthesis of traditional and futuristic sounds. Lyrically the album mirrors this approach by discussing the difficulties and advantages of dealing with modern life's digital and artificial landscape, balanced with the natural world. Elf Power formed in Athens, GA in 1994 and have released 14 albums, two eps, and a handful of singles, while touring North America, Europe, and Japan many times playing alongside acts like R.E.M., Flaming Lips, Dinosaur Jr., Neutral Milk Hotel, Guided by Voices, Arcade Fire and many more. Albums such as 1998's Dave Fridmann-produced "A Dream In Sound" and 2008's collaboration with the late folk rock icon Vic Chesnutt, "Dark Developments", have cemented the bands' reputation as the finest purveyors of modern melodic psychedelic folk rock around. The band became known as a member of the much heralded Elephant 6 Collective, which includes their friends and collaborators Neutral Milk Hotel, Apples in Stereo, Olivia Tremor Control, Of Montreal, and many more.

Track listing:

  1. Undigested Parts
  2. Clean Clothes
  3. Artificial Countrysides
  4. The Gas Inside the Tank
  5. Filming The Sequel Before All The Actors Die