Elizabeth Cotten- Folksongs and Instrumentals with Guitar

Elizabeth Cotten- Folksongs and Instrumentals with Guitar

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Smithsonian 

Released 1958, reissued 2018

Elizabeth Cotten's 1958 debut album on Folkways is best known for containing the earliest recording of her classic "Freight Train." The breadth of her repertoire and her endearing style have captivated generations of guitarists and fans of traditional American music. Cotten's self-taught, upside-down, left-handed playing style on the guitar and banjo made her a true original. Many of her deeply personal compositions, such as the immortal "Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie," are also included here. "[A] classic that belongs in every collection..." (Blues Review Quarterly), this reissue is part of Smithsonian Folkways Vinyl Reissue Series and features Mike Seeger's updated notes with comments on Cotten's life, musical style, and song lyrics.

Track Listing:

  1. Wilson Rag
  2. Freight Train
  3. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
  4. I Don't Love Nobody
  5. Ain't Got No Honey Baby Now
  6. Graduation March
  7. Honey Babe Your Papa Cares for You
  8. Vastopol
  9. Here Old Rattler Here / Sent for My Fiddle Sent for My Bow / George Buck
  10. Run... Run / Mama Your Son Done Gone
  11. Sweet Bye and Bye / What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  12. Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
  13. Spanish Flang Dang
  14. When I Get Home