Guantanamo Baywatch- Desert Center

Guantanamo Baywatch- Desert Center

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Suicide Squeeze

Released 2017

GUANTANAMO BAYWATCH's new album Desert Center opens with "Conquistador", an instrumental track displaying enough fretboard savvy and fiery twang to make The Challengers proud. But any notion that GUANTANAMO BAYWATCH is strictly adhering to one facet of rock n' roll's classic era is dispelled by the soulful swagger and unabashed pop of "Neglect". It’s an inadvertent juxtaposition maintained through the entirety of Desert Center, with blazing instrumental nuggets like "The Scavenger" alternating with the proto-grunge and golden oldies mash-up of a track like "Blame Myself." Like their 2015 album 'Darling It's Too Late, Desert Center was primarily tracked in Atlanta at Living Room Recording with Justin McNeight and Ed Rawls, with Jason Powell doing the bulk of the guitar tracks on his own at Jungle Muscle Studios. While GUANTANAMO BAYWATCH initially made a name for themselves with their early blown-out recordings, Desert Center retains the raw aesthetics of a HASIL ADKINS' single, but has the added heft and thump afforded by a modern studio.

Track Listing:

  1. Conquistador
  2. Neglect
  3. The Scavenger
  4. Mesa, Az
  5. Interlude #1
  6. Witch Stomp
  7. Area 69
  8. Interlude #2
  9. Blame Myself
  10. Video
  11. The Australian