Herb Alpert- Over the Rainbow

Herb Alpert- Over the Rainbow

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Herb Alpert

Released 9/20/19

On his latest album, OVER THE RAINBOW, HERB ALBERT began the same way he has done for all of his albums over the years: searching for great melodies. That search has resulted in the prolific trumpeter’s latest offering, a collection of 11 classics and 1 brand new, original track. That original song, “Skinny Dip”, opens the album with a quirky, fun vibe before things move on to recognizable tunes from the great American songbook, which are included for various reasons close to HERB’s heart. He felt the danger in the tightrope walk of recording his own version of the iconic “Over The Rainbow”, which was cemented within pop culture by JUDY GARLAND’s performance and many other fantastic recordings. And whether it’s a tribute to Gypsy jazz guitarist DJANGO REINHARDT on “All Love”, Bill Withers on “Ain’t No Sunshine”, or the great LOUIS ARMSTRONG on “What A Wonderful World”, there is always a deeper connection and meaning for HERB on every cover selected for this album, making it one of the most personal projects he has ever worked on.

Track Listing:

  1. Skinny Dip
  2. Ain't No Sunshine
  3. All Love
  4. Fantasy
  5. Over the Rainbow
  6. Copacabana
  7. With You I'm Born Again
  8. You Are So Beautiful
  9. Nature Boy
  10. Always on My Mind
  11. South of the Border
  12. What a Wonderful World