Howlin' Wolf- Message To The Young

Howlin' Wolf- Message To The Young

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Anagram Music / Elemental Music

Reissued 7/28/2023, Originally released 1971

This was the 8th album by blues master Howlin' Wolf released by Chess Records in 1971. Often considered an attempt at offering the masses a psychedelic record, its sound ranges from acid-rock, to blues, to funk, and back again. The title song is Wolf's attempt at reaching the youth of the era in a beautiful spoken word ballad which can easily be summed up in two words: Be Yourself. Arranged and conducted by Cash McCall, this album presents Wolf in the company of legendary pianist Sonny Thompson.

Track listing:

  1. If I Were a Bird
  2. I Smell a Rat
  3. Miss James
  4. Message to the Young
  5. She's Lookin' Good
  6. Just As Long
  7. Romance Without Finance
  8. Turn Me on