Iron & Wine- Archive Series Vol. 5: Tallahassee Recordings

Iron & Wine- Archive Series Vol. 5: Tallahassee Recordings

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sub Pop

Released 5/7/2021

Archive Series Volume No. 5: Tallahassee is the lost-in-time debut album from Iron & Wine. A collection of songs recorded three years prior to his official Sub Pop debut, The Creek Drank the Cradle (2002). A period before the concept of Iron & Wine existed and principal songwriter Sam Beam was studying at Florida State University with the intent of pursuing a career in film. Tallahassee documents the very first steps on a journey that would lead to a career as one of America’s most original and distinctive singer-songwriters. The recordings – all captured in the house where Beam and bandmate EJ Holowicki lived – have a “live in the room” feel akin to say Neil Young’s Harvest or Nick Drake’s Five Leaves Left, rather than the homespun lo-fi 4-track home recording experiment taking place at the time.

Track listing:

  1. Why Hate the Winter
  2. This Solemn Day
  3. Loaning Me Secrets
  4. John's Glass Eye
  5. Calm on the Valley
  6. Ex-Lover Lucy Jones
  7. Elizabeth
  8. Show Him the Ground
  9. Straight and Tall
  10. Cold Town
  11. Valentine