Islands- And That's Why Dolphins Lost Their Legs

Islands- And That's Why Dolphins Lost Their Legs

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: ELF

Released 8/25/2023

If Islands' last record, (2021's Islomania) was a Saturday Night Fever dream, then the follow up-- 2023's And That's Why Dolphins Lost Their Legs--is the Sunday Morning comedown. Taking a giant leap forward, replete with addictive hooks at every turn, Dolphins (the 9th record in the catalogue), stands out as the strongest and most articulate Islands record yet. Nick Thorburn and crew manage to tap into both the pain and the joy of living, (sometimes within the very same breath), while musically stripping things down to their simplest element: a bouncing bassline, a snappy kick and snare, or a persistent, hooky guitar line. Though Dolphins is arguably their biggest musical departure (which is saying something, coming from a band that has constantly reinvented their sound from album to album), the DNA of Thorburn's first band The Unicorns can clearly be heard throughout songs like "Headlines", "Life's A Joke" and "And All You Can Do is Laugh". Dolphins, which came together over a methodical, carefully considered multi-year process, continues Thorburn's fruitful collaboration with co-producer Patrick Ford (!!!), and features production on a few songs from Chris Coady (Beach House) and Mike Stroud (Ratatat).

Track listing:

  1. Life's A Joke
  2. And All You Can Do Is Laugh
  3. Headlines
  4. Superstitious
  5. Hard to Argue
  6. Pelican
  7. Driven Snow
  8. Bite My Tongue
  9. Violet
  10. Too Far Gone
  11. Up The Down Staircase