J Dilla- Ruff Draft: Dilla's Mix

J Dilla- Ruff Draft: Dilla's Mix

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Pay Jay

Released 2003

When Ruff Draft saw its initial release in 2003, J Dilla possessed production skills on par with anyone in hip-hop – technically and creatively. “At the top of his game,” says longtime friend and collaborator, Karriem Riggins. After years of building while modestly deferring to others of both greater and lesser notoriety, Dilla finally completed the first solo endeavor on his own label, entirely on his own terms. The significance of such an autonomous success often gets overlooked, and partly accounts for why Ruff Draft is one of the lesser-referenced entries in Dilla’s oeuvre.

Track listing:

  1.  Intro
  2. Let's Take It Back
  3. Reckless Driving
  4. Nothing Like This
  5. The $
  6. Interlude (Feat. Dank)
  7. Make'em NV
  8. Interlude
  9. Crushin' (Yeeeeah!)
  10. Shouts
  11. Intro
  12. Wild
  13. Reckless Driving
  14. Nothing Like This
  15. The $
  16. Take Notice (Feat. Guilty Simpson)
  17. Make'em NV
  18. Interlude
  19. Crushin' (Yeeeeah!)
  20. Rock on