John Coltrane- Giant Steps: The Cornerstone Of Modern Jazz

John Coltrane- Giant Steps: The Cornerstone Of Modern Jazz

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Jazz Images

Reissued 1/6/2023

Deluxe Hard Cover 88-page book by Franck Bergerot + Audio CD. John Coltrane, a towering figure in the world of saxophone, created musical history with GIANT STEPS, a veritable cornerstone of modern jazz that paved the way from bop to modal jazz, and even on to free jazz, and gave the world it's first glimpse of such original compositions as "Naima", "Mr. P.C." and the album's title track, which would become core masterpieces of the jazz repertoire. In this book, prestigious Jazz Magazine writer Franck Bergerot explores the genesis of that iconic album but also offers an in-depth look at Coltrane's life, musical development and style. The book is fully illustrated with classic, rare and never before published photos by such important jazz photographers as Jean-Pierre Leloir, Gai Terrell, Herb Snitzer, Bill Wagg and Gijsbert Hanekroot. Also included inside is a CD containing Giant Steps in its entirety, plus 5 bonus tracks specifically selected by the author to demonstrate different aspects of the artist discussed in the book. 

Track listing:

  1. Giant Steps
  2. Cousin Mary
  3. Countdown
  4. Spiral
  5. Syeeda's Song Flute
  6. Naima
  7. Mr. P.C.
  8. Trinkle Tinkle
  9. Slow Dance
  10. Lazy Bird
  11. Fifth House
  12. But Not For Me