L7- Wargasm: The Slash Years

L7- Wargasm: The Slash Years

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Cherry Red

Reissued 4/30/2021, Originally released 2000

L7 originally formed in Los Angeles in 1985 when Suzi Gardner (guitar, vocals) and Donita Sparks (guitar, vocals) joined forces with Jennifer Finch (bass, vocals). An all female band in a traditionally male-dominated, often sexist rock arena, L7 were happy to court controversy through spirited, occasionally infamous live performances, whilst playing songs often infused with humour as much as bite and bile. Through Rock For Choice they proved to be a band with a sociopolitical conscience too. Having emerged from LA's art punk scene, their music was a mixture of hard rock, alternative rock and punk rock, but they are arguably most synonymous with the grunge movement of the late 1980s and early 1990s. Releasing their self-titled debut on Epitaph Records (home of The Offspring and Bad Religion), their grunge credentials were cemented by the release of second record "Smell The Magic" on Seattle's Sub Pop, some-time home for many grunge lynchpins, including Nirvana, Soundgarden and Mudhoney, among many others. In 1990, the classic line-up was completed by Dee Plakas on drums. Signing to Slash Records (Faith No More, Violent Femmes), they released their major label debut "Bricks Are Heavy" in 1992, produced by Butch Vig (Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Garbage). Lead single 'Pretend We're Dead' gave L7 a massive worldwide hit, especially in the States, followed by the singles 'Everglade' and 'Monster'. The expanded edition of "Bricks Are Heavy" includes 'Pretend We're Dead' (Edit), 'Lopsided Head' (B-Side), 'Used To Love Him' (B-Side), a cover of the tongue-in-cheek Guns N' Roses track and 'Freak Magnet' (B-Side). Touring with Nirvana and Hole, as well as appearing on the main stage at Lollapalooza, L7 followed up "Bricks Are Heavy" with "Hungry For Stink" in 1994. Featuring the single 'Andres', this expanded edition features 'Baggage' (Live), 'Punk Broke (My Heart)' (B-Side), 'Stuck Here Again' (Edit) and 'Interview' (B-Side). During the recording of their third Slash record, Jennifer Finch left the band, eventually replaced by Belly's Gail Greenwood. Their fifth record, "The Beauty Process: Triple Platinum", was released at the beginning of 1997, and although their shift in direction received plenty of critical praise, it was their last album for Slash Records. 'Off The Wagon' was issued as a single, with the B-Sides 'Guera' and 'Worn Out' included as bonus tracks, alongside 'Drama (Piss Off Version)'. L7 would record one more album during the 1990s before calling it a day in 2001. They would reform in 2014, touring extensively, and enjoying a creative renaissance, releasing their seventh album "Scatter The Rats" in 2019. Packed with bonus tracks, artwork and memorabilia, WARGASM - THE SLASH YEARS 1992-1997 includes a new, extensive liner note based on interviews with the band.

Track listing:

  1. Wargasm
  2. Scrap
  3. Pretend We're Dead
  4. Diet Pill
  5. Everglade
  6. Slide
  7. One More Thing
  8. Mr. Integrity
  9. Monster
  10. Shitlist
  11. This Ain't Pleasure
  12. Pretend We're Dead (Edit)
  13. Lopsided Head (B-Side)
  14. Used to Love Him (B-Side)
  15. Freak Magnet (B-Side)
  16. Andres
  17. Baggage
  18. Can I Run
  19. The Bomb
  20. Questioning My Sanity
  21. Riding with a Movie Star
  22. Stuck Here Again
  23. Fuel My Fire
  24. Freak Magnet
  25. She Has Eyes
  26. Shirley
  27. Talk Box
  28. Baggage (Live)
  29. Punk Broke (My Heart)
  30. Stuck Here Again (Edit)
  31. Interview (B-Side)
  32. The Beauty Process
  33. Drama
  34. Off the Wagon
  35. I Need
  36. Moonshine
  37. Bitter Wine
  38. The Masses Are Asses
  39. Bad Things
  40. Must Have More
  41. Non-Existent Patricia
  42. Me, Myself & I
  43. Lorenza, Giada, Alessandra
  44. Guera (B-Side)
  45. Worn Out (B-Side)
  46. Drama (Piss Off Version)