Light Asylum- Light Asylum PREORDER OUT 10/13
Light Asylum- Light Asylum PREORDER OUT 10/13

Light Asylum- Light Asylum PREORDER OUT 10/13

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

This is a preorder. Albums can be picked up or will be mailed out upon street date. Order by 9/29/23 to get by 10/13/23.

Label: DFA

Originally released 2012

Light Asylum’s debut LP came out in 2012, a time before streaming really gained critical mass and before vinyl came back in a big way. It was a weird in-between era, like both the recent past and ancient history. History has been kind to Light Asylum. For one, whatever limited vinyl copies were pressed int he initial run fetch stupid prices on Discogs. And the critical shrug that welcomed its release now seems irrelevant. This is top-notch, black-clad, spiritually punishing synth-pop, perfectly and carefully programmed and soaring on the back of lead singer Shannon Funchess’ superhuman voice. The DFA braintrust always maintained a deep love for this record, and we wanted vinyl copies of it for ourselves that didn’t cost so much money. So, we asked if we could reissue it, get Bob Weston to recut it, and press it at a really nice plant like Citizen Vinyl. That’s this version right here. Package includes a four-color gatefold jacket, printed insert, and 24” x 36” poster.

Track listing:

  1. Hour Fortress
  2. Pope Will Roll
  3. IPC
  4. Heart Of Dust
  5. Sins Of The Flesh
  6. Angel Tongue
  7. Shallow Tears
  8. At Will
  9. End Of Days
  10. A Certain Person