Linda Hoover- I Mean To Shine

Linda Hoover- I Mean To Shine

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Omnivore

Released 6/24/2022

Unissued Gary Katz-produced 1970 album featuring members of the original Steely Dan line-up. In the summer of 1970, Linda Hoover, then 19, entered Manhattan's Advantage Sound Studio to cut her first album with Gary Katz, Walter Becker and Donald Fagen leading a team that also included guitarists (and future Steely Dan members) Denny Dias & Jeff "Skunk" Baxter, and Eric Weissberg, saxophonist Jerome Richardson, plus members of the Dick Cavett Orchestra. I Mean To Shine includes three original compositions by Linda alongside The Band's "In A Station" (from Music From Big Pink) and Stephen Stills' "4+20" (which appeared on CSN&Y's Déjà Vu). Almost half of the album was penned by the pre-Steely Dan songwriting duo of Becker and Fagen, including what would become the album's title track. After creating a wonderful record, album cover photos were taken and then it all fell apart.

Track listing:

  1. I Mean To Shine 
  2. Turn My Friend Away 
  3. The Roaring of The Lamb 
  4. Roll Back The Meaning 
  5. Autumn 
  6. Jones In A Station 
  7. Mama Tears 
  8. City Mug 
  9. 4+20 
  10. The Dove