Marvin Gaye- Let's Get It On

Marvin Gaye- Let's Get It On

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Tamla

Reissued 5/27/16, originally released 1973

 Let's Get It On is the 13th studio album by Marvin Gaye. Serving as Gaye's first venture into the funk genre and romance-themed music, Let's Get It On incorporates smooth soul, doo-wop, and quiet storm. It has been noted by critics for it's sexually suggestive lyrics, and was cited by one writer as "one of the most sexually charged albums ever recorded." Following the breakthrough success of his socially conscious album What's Going On (1971), Let's Get It On helped establish Gaye as a sex icon and furthered his mainstream appeal. It produced three singles-the title track, "Come Get to This", and "You Sure Love to Ball"-that attained Billboard chart success. Let's Get It On became the most commercially successful album of Gaye's recording career, and it further expanded his creative control during his tenure with Motown.

Track Listing:

  1. Let's Get It on
  2. Please Stay (Once You Go Away)
  3. If I Should Die Tonight
  4. Keep Gettin' It on
  5. Come Get
  6. To This
  7. Distant Lover
  8. You Sure Love to Bal
  9. Just to Keep You Satisfied