Medium Medium- The Glitterhouse

Medium Medium- The Glitterhouse

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Optic Nerve

Reissued 2017, originally released 1981

Expanded reissue of MEDIUM MEDIUM's debut album, The Glitterhouse, was originally released on Cherry Red in October 1981. Formed at the end of 1978, MEDIUM MEDIUM's self-described "extreme dance music" had reviewers scrambling to draw comparisons with the band's contemporaries and find a label for its post punk sound. MEDIUM MEDIUM''s solid dance rhythms and chaotic, chiming guitar were superficially reminiscent of the GANG OF FOUR and TALKING HEADS, but Rees's tangential sax playing and Graham's tape and keyboard interjections from the front-of-house mixing desk, took MEDIUM MEDIUM in another direction. "Free-blown dubbed-up white funk" was how Max Bell described the sound in England's New Musical Express (NME). "At the forefront of the post punk funk movement," raved Cashbox. In the U.S. Billboard magazine opined that this was "post punk and post disco dance music." After the initial release of The Glitterhouse, In Sound International magazine Dave Henderson wrote prophetically, "It could be one of the most important records of the type to emerge this year and will doubtlessly be revered as a classic after the group have long since departed." This reissue also features the "Hungry, So Angry" single version which was produced by Adrian Sherwood at Berry Street Studio in London. Also included is a selection of tracks from Cherry Red's 2001 Hungry, So Angry retrospective compilation album, the B-side of the band's debut single on Apt (1979), and a previously unreleased demo version of a song from the 1982 Sound-Products EP, Splendid Isolation. It includes a bonus EP featuring previously unreleased tracks from the 2008 Village recording session. All of the various lineups of MEDIUM MEDIUM are represented. Comes on color vinyl; Comes in a gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeves.

Track Listing:

  1. Hungry So Angry
  2. Serbian Village
  3. The Glitterhouse
  4. Guru Maharaj Ji
  5. Further Than Funk Dream
  6. Mice Or Monsters
  7. That Haiku
  8. Nadsat Dream
  9. Them Or Me
  10. Freeze
  11. Splendid Isolation
  12. 7th Floor  
  13. If You Touched Her She’d Smear
  14. Hungry So Angry (Original Single)  
  15. Frightened Child
  16. Full Of Secrecy
  17. Praying
  18. Hidden Fears
  19. OK We Go
  20. Let Me Breathe
  21. Obsessed