Melvins- Ozma

Melvins- Ozma

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Boner

Reissued 4/22/2022, Originally released 1989

"Ozma was recorded soon after Melvins made the move from Washington to San Francisco, and was their first release to include the diminutive yet mighty Lorax (Lori Temple Black) on bass. In fact, the first sound one hears at the album's opening is Lori standing on her tiptoes to switch on her amp, thereby warning the listener of the onslaught to come. Distorted, down-tuned doom riffs start, stop, lurch sideways with no warning, and seem to end before they start. Buzz Osborne adds extraneous guitar static and vocal squeals. Drummer Dale Crover plays as if he's inside a barrel going over Niagara Falls; the long, slow fall allows the space between beats to grow and grow until he crashes into the water with the vessel blasting apart in an explosion of drum rolls. The classic Melvins heavy grind is set up and broken up by assorted odd sidetracks: 'Revulsion / We Reach' flows forward slower and slower until it eventually melts into a gooey feedback drone. 'Raise a Paw' is a superball paddled against one's head by a grinning village idiot. 'Love Thing' enlists in the Kiss Army before getting dishonorably discharged."

Track listing:

  1. Vile
  2. Oven
  3. At a Glance
  4. Let God Be Your Gardener
  5. Creepy Smell
  6. Kool Legged
  7. Green Honey
  8. Agonizer
  9. Raise a Paw
  10. Love Thing
  11. Ever Since My Accident
  12. Revulsion/We Reach
  13. Dead Dressed
  14. Cranky Messiah
  15. Claude
  16. My Small Percent Shows Most
  17. Candy-O
  18. Eye Flys
  19. Echo Head/Don't Piece Me
  20. Heater Moves and Eyes
  21. Steve Instant Newman
  22. Influence of Atmosphere
  23. Exact Paperbacks
  24. Happy Grey or Black
  25. Leeech
  26. Glow God
  27. Big As a Mountain
  28. Heaviness of the Load
  29. Flex with You
  30. Bitten Into Sympathy
  31. Gluey Porch Treatments
  32. Clipping Roses
  33. As Was It/Over from Under the Excrement