Millie Jackson- Caught Up

Millie Jackson- Caught Up

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Southbound

Released originally 1974, reissue

One of soul music's great female voices, Millie Jackson's reputation was made by the release of "Caught Up" and "Still Caught Up", released in 1974 and 1975 respectively. Here we reissue "Caught Up" on vinyl. Both albums deal with infidelity - and see it from both the wife's and the lover's point of view. The combination of spoken word raps and forceful, risqué lyrics was to become Millie's trademark for several years to come. Side One belongs to the lover and gives us an eleven-minute plus version of 'If Loving You Is Wrong'. Superb backing from the classic Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section line-up of Beckett, Johnson, Hood and Hawkins features throughout, with long-time Millie Jackson producer Brad Shapiro at the controls.

Track Listing:
  • 1 If Loving You Is Wrong I Don't Want to Be Right
  • 2 The Rap
  • 3 If Loving You Is Wrong I Don't Want to Be Right (Reprise)
  • 4 All I Want Is a Fighting Chance
  • 5 I'm Tired of Hiding
  • 6 It's All Over But the Shouting
  • 7 It's Easy Going
  • 8 I'm Through Trying to Prove My Love to You
  • 9 Summer (The First Time)