Oingo Boingo- Boi-Ngo

Oingo Boingo- Boi-Ngo

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Rubellan

Reissued 12/23/2022, Originally released 1987

After the success of their 1985 album Dead Man's Party, Oingo Boingo return in 1987 with Boi-Ngo. Continuing their evolution from the frantic high energy of the early albums, Boi-Ngo emphasizes electronics and dance grooves. The first single 'Pain', released in late 1986, makes use of then-current technology with a stomping beat and sound samples. The single 'Not My Slave' originally dated from the Dead Man's Party sessions but wasn't used at the time. The song harkened back to the earlier sound of upbeat and catchy hooks. The final single 'We Close Our Eyes' is a straight-forward Alternative pop song. Boi-Ngo has been remastered from the original 1/2" analog master tapes and the CD includes several rare bonus tracks. 'Mama' is one of the many known album outtakes and was previously only available on a rare 7" box set of the album. Two remixes each of the singles 'Pain' and 'Not My Slave' make an appearance, as does a rare mix of their earlier hit single 'Weird Science', previously only available on a promotional 12" single.

Track listing:

  1. Home Again
  2. Where Do All My Friends Go
  3. Elevator Man
  4. New Generation
  5. We Close Our Eyes
  6. Not My Slave
  7. My Life
  8. Outrageous
  9. Pain
  10. Mama
  11. Pain (Extended Dance Mix)
  12. Not My Slave (Extended Remix)
  13. Weird Science (Boingo Dance Version)
  14. Pain (A Cappella Version)
  15. Not My Slave (Club Dub Mix)