OST [Robin Carolan & Sebastian Gainsborough]- The Northman
OST [Robin Carolan & Sebastian Gainsborough]- The Northman

OST [Robin Carolan & Sebastian Gainsborough]- The Northman

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sacred Bones

Released 7/29/2022

“Rob wanted the world of The Northman to feel harsh and uncomfortable, and for everything to feel like it was caked in mud and dry blood, so it was crucial for the score to mirror that.” Composers Robin Carolan (Tri-Angle Records) and Sebastian Gainsborough (Vessel) were given a task of epic proportions when director Rob Eggers (The VVitch, The Lighthouse) asked them to create the score for his ambitious and highly anticipated new film The Northman, releasing on April 22nd. They needed to make a score that both honored the immense research that had gone into the authenticity of this Viking era period piece and complimented the cinematic maximalism of the film for a modern audience. The artists stretched themselves to the depths of their creativity and the resulting album is a gorgeous, sonic tableaux that places the listener right in the center of the film.

Track listing:

  1. Approaching Hrafnsey
  2. The King
  3. Entering the Temple
  4. Last Teardrop
  5. Blood Tree, Part I
  6. Strike Brother
  7. Escape
  8. I Will Avenge You Father
  9. The Land of the Rus
  10. A Burning Barn
  11. Seeress
  12. Raven's Omen
  13. Storm at Sea / Yggdrasill
  14. Iceland
  15. I Will Save You Mother
  16. Slave Work
  17. Gu∂rún
  18. Follow the Vixens Tail
  19. He Witch
  20. Draugr
  21. Mound Dweller
  22. To the Games
  23. Birch Woods
  24. First of Many
  25. Trollish Sorcery
  26. Svi∂ Night Part I
  27. Svi∂ Night Part II
  28. I Am Your Death
  29. Come Morning
  30. I Am His Vengeance
  31. Ó∂inn
  32. Valkyrie
  33. Vestrahorn
  34. Hidden Valley
  35. Blood Tree, Part II
  36. Bló∂ Inside / I Choose Both
  37. A Maiden King
  38. The Wolf Has Grown
  39. The Gates of Hel / Slain By Iron
  40. Hekla
  41. Cut the Thread of Fate
  42. Make Your Passage / Valhöll
  43. Ættartré / End Credits