Psychick TV- Allegory & Self

Psychick TV- Allegory & Self

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sacred Bones / Dais

Reissued 2017, originally released 1982

Beginning in 1982, the conceptual audiovisual troupe labeled PSYCHIC TV set out on a multimedia journey filled with subversion, liberation and rebellion. While the members' previous works took root in the counterculture zeitgeist of late '70s UK punk and conceptual art, it was no longer a question of how to rebel against authority, but rather how to carefully subvert it through collective infiltration. Parallel to PSYCHICTV, its members formed the anti-cult faction Thee Temple of Psychick Youth, further propagating the PSYCHIC TV message and vision.  While the ensuing years saw Psychic TV's major label infection and record breaking live album release binge, it wasn't until 1988 that the band started to ready itself for a chart-friendly pop endeavor in the form of "Allegory & Self". This would be the band's most notable and successful endeavor but tragically, it would be the final songwriting collaboration between P-Orridge and Fergusson. "Allegory and Self" was a perfect storm of catchy pop melody along with subversive counter-culture reference and occult leanings, packaged in a perfect bundle of underground hits.

Track Listing:

  1. Godstar
  2. Just Like Arcadia
  3. Southern Comfort
  4. We Kiss
  5. She Was Surprised
  6. Caresse Song
  7. Starlit Mire
  8. Thee Dweller
  9. Being Lost
  10. Baby's Gone Away
  11. Ballet Disco