Sam Prekop- Sam Prekop

Sam Prekop- Sam Prekop

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Thrill Jockey

Released 1999

Sam Prekop’s self-titled debut is a study in pop nuances. Simultaneously transporting the listener from mild climes and swinging palms to darkened skies and wind blown steppes, the record will be easily recognized by fans of The Sea and Cake. Prekop is assisted on this release by Archer Prewitt (The Sea and Cake), Chad Taylor (Chicago Underground, Marc Ribot), Josh Abrams (Natural Information Society, Town and Country), and Jim O’Rourke. Sam and his band blend West African rhythms with a bit of soul, jazz and pop. The resulting record is something wholly original, elegant and earthy. A cauldron, if you will, of sweet smelling and enlightening stew. So line up, grab a spoon, and dig in. All the ingredients and intoxicating aromas necessary for an auditory feast are contained within.

Track listing:

  1. Showrooms 
  2. The Company 
  3. Practice Twice 
  4. A Cloud To The Back 
  5. Don't Bother 
  6. Faces And People 
  7. On Such Favors 
  8. The Shadow 
  9. Smaller Rivers 
  10. So Shy