Son Volt- Electro Melodier
Son Volt- Electro Melodier

Son Volt- Electro Melodier

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Transmit Sound

Released 7/30/2021

2020 was not quite what Jay Farrar was expecting for the 25th anniversary of Son Volt, the band he started in 1995 after leaving the seminal group Uncle Tupelo, whose No Depression album helped define the alt-country and Americana genre. The group had just finished an Outlaw Country Cruise when the pandemic hit and sent them into their homes on lockdown. Once again accompanied by the current Son Volt line up – keyboardist/steel guitarist Mark Spencer, bassist Andrew Duplantis, guitarist Chris Frame and drummer Mark Patterson – Farrar takes a slight turn from 2019’s politically pointed Union to a series of songs that asks questions rather than demanding answers – think of “Living in the U.S.A.” as Farrar’s version of Bruce Springsteen’s “Born in the U.S.A.,” Neil Young’s “Rockin’ in the Free World” or Patti Smith’s “People Have the Power,” an anthem to unite the populace. One listen to Electro Melodier, which opens with “Reverie,” describing Farrar’s contemplative state gazing out his window, enlivened with Mark Spencer’s “Wichita Lineman” guitar riffs and the lush Big Star melodies, and you wonder why no other rock ‘n’ roll bands or singer/songwriters are making albums like this about what we’re all going through.

Track listing:

  1. Reverie
  2. Arkey Blue
  3. The Globe
  4. Diamonds and Cigarettes
  5. Lucky Ones
  6. War on Misery
  7. Living In The USA
  8. Someday Is Now
  9. Sweet Refrain
  10. The Levee On Down
  11. These Are The Times
  12. Rebetika
  13. The Globe / Prelude
  14. Like You