Steep Canyon Rangers - North Carolina Songbook

Steep Canyon Rangers - North Carolina Songbook

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more


Label: Yep Roc

Released 11/29/19

GRAMMY-Award winning bluegrass outfit STEEP CANYON RANGERS brought a special surprise to attendees of their performance at Merlefest 2019. To honor their home state, the Rangers performed a selection of songs from the artists of North Carolina. Featuring unsung Carolinian heroes like OLA BELLE REED and ELIZABETH COTTEN to world-renowned performers like THELONIOUS MONK, DOC WATSON, JAMES TAYLOR and BEN E. KING, the RANGERS' live North Carolina Songbook performance shows why the Tar Heel State continues to celebrate their legacy of musical excellence and influence that dates back over a century.

Track Listing:

  1. Stand By Me [Ben E King]
  2. Don’t Let Your Deal Go Down [Earl Scruggs/Charlie Poole]
  3. Blue Monk [Thelonious Monk]
  4. Jack of Diamonds [Tommy Jerrell]
  5. Shake Sugaree [Elizabeth Cotten]
  6. Sweet Baby James [James Taylor]
  7. I’ve Endured [Ola Belle Reed]
  8. Your Lone Journey [Doc Watson]