Sufjan Stevens & Angelo De Augustine- A Beginner's Mind

Sufjan Stevens & Angelo De Augustine- A Beginner's Mind

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Asthmatic Kitty

Released 9/24/2021

It's been said that writing about music is like dancing about architecture (impossible and absurd). But what about singing about movies? Sufjan Stevens and Angelo De Augustine have paired up for a collaborative project that does just that. A Beginner's Mind is their debut album that contains 14 songs (loosely) based on (mostly) popular films. The source material is highbrow, lowbrow, and everything in between. The music is folksy, sweet, sincere and harmonically effervescent - Simon & Garfunkel with New Age flourishes. This album runs the gamut and has fun with it, even while its songwriters remain fully rooted in the melancholy folk idioms they are known for.

Track listing:

  1. Reach Out
  2. Lady MacBeth in Chains
  3. Back to Oz
  4. The Pillar of Souls
  5. You Give Death a Bad Name
  6. Beginner's Mind
  7. Olympus
  8. Murder and Crime
  9. (This Is) the Thing
  10. It's Your Own Body and Mind
  11. Lost in the World
  12. Fictional California
  13. Cimmerian Shade
  14. Lacrimae