Sun Ra- Of Abstract Dreams

Sun Ra- Of Abstract Dreams

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Strut

Released 2018

Strut and Art Yard present another exclusive from the vast catalogue of cosmic jazz pioneer SUN RA: a previously unreleased radio session most likely recorded at the WXPN FM radio studios in Philadelphia, 1974-5. This newly discovered session features a new version of RAs earlier Island In The Sun, a romping, raucous rendition of Unmask The Batman and the first studio recording of Ill Wait For You There is no bass player on the sessions and RAs left hand beats out a rhythmic bass pattern on the piano. All tracks are remastered directly from the original tapes. The album package features a newly commissioned painting by legendary Bristol urban artist Guy Denning and new sleeve notes by Paul Griffiths. Recently discovered in the SUN RA archive, the recording forms part of a series of sessions that RA and the ARKESTRA recorded for WXPN-FM between 1974 and 1980. The Antique Blacks album was recorded there in 74. Based on the campus of The University of Pennsylvania, WXPNs station manager Jules Epstein and music director Russ Woessner were instrumental in the exposure and recording of The ARKESTRA in their broadcast production studios. Geno Barnhart, founder of The Empty Foxhole concert collective, Jules and Russ broadcast an on-going series of jazz concerts covering a wide spectrum. The Arkestra performed at The Foxhole in Philly many times from 1974. Personnel: SUN RA: Piano JOHN GILMORE: Tenor Saxophone MARSHALL ALLEN: Flute, Alto Saxophone DANNY RAY THOMPSON: Baritone Saxophone, Percussion ATAKATUNE: Oboe, Congas EDDIE THOMAS: Drums ELO OMOE: Bass Clarinet, Hand Claps AKH TAL EBAH: Trumpet, Vocal JAMES JACSON: Congas, Vocal

Track Listing:

  1. Island In The Sun 8:36
  2. New Dawn 10:31
  3. Unmask The Batman 6:06
  4. I'll Wait For You 14:02