Sun Ra- Sun Song

Sun Ra- Sun Song

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Delmark

Reissued, Originally released 1956

Originally issued as "Jazz By Sun Ra" in 1956, "Sun Song" was the first long-player to feature the enigmatic bandleader. However, his various bands - or "Arkestras" as Ra proclaimed them - had been issuing 78 and 45 rpms since the late '40s. This recording initiated a much larger audience to the multifarious and otherwise logical post-bop rhythms of one of jazz's most notorious and equally respected figures. The sides which comprise this LP were recorded on July 12, 1956 by Tom Wilson, who would go on to produce such rock luminaries as Frank Zappa, Simon and Garfunkel, Bob Dylan, and the Velvet Underground, among others.

Track listing:

  1. Brainville
  2. Call For All Demons
  3. Transition
  4. Possession
  5. Street Named Hell
  6. Lullaby For Realville
  7. Future
  8. New Horizons
  9. Fall Off The Log
  10. Sun Song