Superchunk- Tossing Seeds (Singles 1989-91)

Superchunk- Tossing Seeds (Singles 1989-91)

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Merge

Released 2016

This Record Store Day, Superchunk will reissue Tossing Seeds (Singles 89–91), a compilation of the band’s earliest 7-inches. Out of print for nearly ten years, the reissue LP will be remastered from the original tapes and pressed on 180-gram vinyl for the first time. In addition, the art will include sleeve images of the original singles that make up the collection. Laura Ballance writes about what the record means to her: It’s rough around the edges and pure, full of sincere emotion of the sort you have when you are barely past being a teenager. It all makes me feel very nostalgic. Each song represents a pivotal moment in the evolution of the band and the baby steps that led to where we are now. On it you will find covers of songs we loved by The Shangri-Las, The Flys, and Sebadoh, as well as early versions of Superchunk classics. It also happens to be the first full-length that Merge Records ever released, thanks to Corey Rusk of Touch and Go reaching out and asking if his company could manufacture and distribute records on our behalf. It represents our graduation from being a 7-inch label to the real deal. It all makes me feel very nostalgic.

Track Listing:

  • 1 What Do I
  • 2 My Noise
  • 3 Train from Kansas City
  • 4 Slack Motherf***er
  • 5 Night Creatures
  • 6 Garlic
  • 7 Fishing
  • 8 Cool
  • 9 The Breadman
  • 10 Cast Iron
  • 11 Seed Toss
  • 12 It's So Hard to Fall in Love
  • 13 Brand New Love