Teenage Jesus & The Jerks- Teenage Jesus & The Jerks

Teenage Jesus & The Jerks- Teenage Jesus & The Jerks

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Radiation Reissues

Reissued 6/2/2023, Originally released 1979

During the late 1970s, after No Wave pioneer Lydia Lunch met saxophonist James Chance, she began setting her angry and disjointed poetry to anti-music, founding her ground-breaking band Teenage Jesus and The Jerks with Lunch’s shouted lyrics matched by her non-conventional use of electric guitar. The group’s self-titled debut EP is a fast and furious affair, produced by Robert Quine of the Voidoids/Lou Reed, with future Nick Cave drummer Jim Sclavunos on bass and Bradley Field on minimalist percussion; steeped in aggression and audacity, it’s an awesome disc that rebuffs punk’s easy cliches and refuses to be categorized. This reissue also includes the ‘Pre’ EP and the tracks from the legendary No New York compilation. Essential!

Track listing:

  1. Freud In Flop 
  2. Race Mixing 
  3. Baby Doll 
  4. Burning Rubber 
  5. Red Alert 
  6. Orphans 
  7. Less Of Me 
  8. The Closet 
  9. Less Of Me 
  10. My Eyes 
  11. Burning Rubber 
  12. The Closet 
  13. Red Alert 
  14. I Woke Up Dreaming