The Ex- Pokkeherrie

The Ex- Pokkeherrie

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Superior Viaduct

Reissued 3/29/2024, Originally released 1985

Emerging out of Amsterdam’s vibrant squat scene in 1979, The Ex—a name chosen for the ease and speed with which it could be spray-painted onto a wall—have for four decades been an entirely self-sustaining musical entity, charting a course through the global underground with a spirit of freedom and radical exploration. On 1985’s Pokkeherrie (Dutch for “terrible noise”), The Ex return to the more stripped-down instrumentation on their early LPs. A key lineup change would also see the arrival of drummer Kat Bornefeld (whose supple rhythms propel the group to this day). Recorded at the new location of Koeienverhuur Studio in the basement of storied squat/venue Emma, Pokkeherrie is a testament to the angular momentum of a group in full creative flux. Right from the opening track, bassist Luc Klaasen generates a relentless pulse. Terrie Ex’s sparse/acidic guitar and G.W. Sok’s impassioned vocals combine in a vein similar to The Minutemen, Flipper or Rudimentary Peni, except The Ex have the patience and wherewithal to sustain their approach beyond just brief explosions. Perhaps only The Fall from this period can match The Ex’s ability to hold a melody together while utilizing otherwise harsh sonic elements over an extended piece, most effectively on “Soviet Threat,” “1,000,000 Ashtrays” and “White Liberals.” This first-time vinyl reissue comes with 17” x 24” poster and 20-page booklet.

Track listing:

  1. Nurse!
  2. Soviet Threat
  3. Mmm Crisis
  4. 1,000,000 Ashtrays
  5. White Liberals
  6. Everything We Never Wanted
  7. Friendly Neighbors
  8. Hit The Headlines
  9. Rumours Of Music (The Original Soundcrack)