Trans Am- The Surveillance

Trans Am- The Surveillance

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Thrill Jockey

Reissued 2012, originally released 1998

1998 : TRANS AM's third studio album The Surveillance is released. The Surveillance was the first record recorded and mixed entirely by the band. At the time their home studio, the Bridge, had taken several months to build. The Surveillance was to take an equal amount of time as the band labored hard to give the recording what they call "a dangerous quality". What is dangerous to TRANS AM? It is no noise reduction, no digital tape compression, and no computer aided editing. Instead they relied on live performances, hours of hard work, hands-on mixing, careful microphone placement, and, to quote the band, "faith in their experimental vision." The results are raw, sparse electronic breaks mixed with diesel-powered rock and roll. TRANS AM put it in more masculine terms "balls-to-the-wall-rockers", which perhaps better capture not only the sound but the intent.

Track Listing:

  1. Armed Response 4:21
  2. Prowler '97 4:28
  3. The Campaign 5:16
  4. Access Control 4:09
  5. Endgame 1:19 E.S.I. 1:08
  6. Home Security 4:09
  7. Extreme Measures 3:51
  8. Shadow Boogie 1:45
  9. Stereo Situation 5:43