TV Priest- My Other People
TV Priest- My Other People
TV Priest- My Other People

TV Priest- My Other People

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sub Pop

Released 7/1/2022

 Without a brutal evaluation of their own becoming, TV Priest might have never made their second album. Heralded as the next big thing in post-punk, they were established as a bolshy, sharp-witted outfit, the kind that starts movements with their political ire. There was of course truth in that, but it was a suit that quickly felt heavy on its wearer's shoulders, leaving little room for true vulnerability. "A lot of it did feel like I was being really careful and a bit at arm's length," says vocalist Charlie Drinkwater. "I think maybe I was not fully aware of the role I was taking. I had to take a step back and realize that what we were presenting was quite far away from the opinion of myself that I had. Now, I just want to be honest... There was a lot of things that had happened to myself and my family that were quite troubling moments. Despite that I do think the record has our most hopeful moments too "It was a bit of a moment for all of us where we realised that we can make something that, to us at least, feels truly beautiful," agrees Bueth. "Brutality and frustration are only a part of that puzzle, and despite a lot of us feeling quite disconnected at the time, overwhelmingly beautiful things were also still happening. " This tension between existential fear born from the constant uncertainties of life, and an affirmative, cathartic urge to seize the moment, is central to My Other People, a record that heals by providing space for recognition, a ground zero in which you're welcome to stay awhile but which ultimately only leads up and out. 

Track listing:

  1. One Easy Thing
  2. Bury Me in My Shoes
  3. Limehouse Cut
  4. I Have Learnt Nothing
  5. It Was Beautiful
  6. The Happiest Place on Earth
  7. My Other People
  8. The Breakers
  9. Unravelling
  10. It Was a Gift
  11. I Am Safe Here
  12. Sunland