TV Priest- Uppers

TV Priest- Uppers

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sub Pop

Released 2/5/21

It’s tempting to think that you have all the answers, screaming your gospel every day with certainty and anger. Life isn’t quite like that though, and the debut album from London four-piece TV Priest instead embraces the beautiful and terrifying unknowns that exist personally, politically, and culturally. Posing as many questions as it answers, Uppers is a thunderous opening statement that continues the UK’s recent resurgence of grubby, furious post-punk music. It says something very different though – something completely its own. Four childhood friends who made music together as teenagers before drifting apart and then, somewhat inevitably, back together late in 2019, TV Priest was borne out of a need to create together once again, and brings with it a wealth of experience and exhaustion picked up in the band’s years of pursuing ‘real life’ and ‘real jobs’, something those teenagers never had. Uppers sees TV Priest taking musical and personal risks, reaching outside of themselves and trying to make sense of this increasingly messy world. It's a band and a record that couldn’t arrive at a more perfect time.

Track Listing:

  1. The Big Curve 4:56
  2. Press Gang 2:59
  3. Leg Room 3:32
  4. Journal of a Plague Year 3:19
  5. History Week 2:02
  6. Decoration 4:31
  7. Slideshow 3:07
  8. Fathers and Sons 3:35
  9. the ref 0:50
  10. Powers of Ten 4:09
  11. This Island 3:44
  12. Saintless 7:06