Unwound - Empire

Unwound - Empire

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Numero 

Released 2015

The climactic entry in Numero Group's four-set UNWOUND exploration, “Empire” compiles the final pair of albums by the Olympia, Washington, trio. On 1998's “Challenge For A Civilized Society,” the band toyed with conventional verse/chorus form, stacking layers of noise and distraction on top of tightly constructed melodies. They'd abdicate entirely just three years later with 2001's “Leaves Turn Inside You,” executing a 14-song masterclass in home recording that observed a crucial band in graceful transition from post-hardcore trio to experimental quintet.

Track Listing:

  1. Data
  2. Laugh Track
  3. Meet the Plastics
  4. The World Is Flat
  5. Sonata for Loudspeakers
  6. No Tech!
  7. Side Effects of Being Tired
  8. Lifetime Achievement Award
  9. What Went Wrong
  10. We Invent You
  11. Look a Ghost
  12. December
  13. Treachery
  14. Terminus
  15. Demons Sing Love Songs
  16. Off This Century
  17. One Lick Less
  18. Scarlette
  19. October All Over
  20. Summer Freeze
  21. Radio Gra
  22. Below the Salt
  23. Who Cares
  24. Mile Me Deaf
  25. The Light at the End of the Tunnel Is a Train
  26. Solo Sonata
  27. XLNT
  28. Laszlo
  29. Torch Song
  30. Meet the Plastics
  31. The World Is Flat
  32. Empire