Unwound- Kid Is Gone

Unwound- Kid Is Gone

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Numero Group

Released 2013

Kid Is Gone is the unquiet portrait of primal UNWOUND. Before 1993’s Fake Train ripped through, they’d been Giant Henry, Supertanker, and Cygnus X-1, short-lived black holes gathering dark material into something built to explode. From Justin Trosper, Vern Rumsey, and Brandt Sandeno’s first restive years, “Crab Nebula” might’ve best prepared the indie-sphere for what UNWOUND became, had Sandeno’s splitnot stalled their planned debut. Part 1 in Numero’s 4-part reissue project, Kid Is Gone documents signal chaos in Olympia’s fertile scene before UNWOUND’s turbulent noise hit stride, in unrevealed period photos, 34 tracks, and three LPs—cassette-only demos, early 7”s, a KAOS radio broadcast, material tracked live in a local basement, and all of what became 1994’s UNWOUND, on which the band’s prehistory plays out in a feral maelstrom of screaming, distortion, feedback, and abrasive promise.

Track listing: 

  1. Antifreeze
  2. LD-50
  3. You Bite My Tongue
  4. Kid Is Gone
  5. Lying at Best
  6. Kany Korn Rituals
  7. Caterpillar
  8. Bionic
  9. Prospect
  10. Fingertips
  11. You Speak Jealousy
  12. Crab Nebula
  13. Awkward (Radio Broadcast)