VA- Blue Note Re:Imagined

VA- Blue Note Re:Imagined

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Blue Note

Released 10/16/20

Blue Note Re:imagined, a collection of classic Blue Note tracks reworked and newly recorded by a selection of the UK scene’s most exciting young talents today. Jazz meets Grime, Afrobeat and Funk in the music of Steam Down, who offer up an inspired reinvention of Wayne Shorter’s classic Post-Bop tune “Etcetera.” Featuring contributions from a rollcall of acclaimed jazz, soul and R&B artists: Jorja Smith, Ezra Collective, Poppy Ajudha, Shabaka Hutchings, Nubya Garcia, Mr Jukes, Steam Down, Skinny Pelembe, Emma-Jean Thackray, Jordan Rakei, Fieh, Ishmael Ensemble, Blue Lab Beats, Melt Yourself Down, Yazmin Lacey, and Alfa Mist. Including interpretations of tracks by Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Bobby Hutcherson, Joe Henderson, Donald Byrd, Eddie Henderson, McCoy Tyner, Andrew Hill, and St Germain.

Track Listing:

  1. Jorja Smith - Rose Rouge
  2. Ezra Collective - Footprints
  3. Poppy Ajudha - Watermelon Man (Under the Sun)
  4. Jordan Rakei - Wind Parade
  5. Skinny Pelembe - Illusion (Silly Apparition)
  6. Alfa Mist - Galaxy
  7. Ishmael Ensemble - Search for Peace
  8. Nubya Garcia - a Shade of Jade
  9. Steam Down
  10. Etcetera - Featuring Afronaut Zu
  11. Blue Lab Beats - Montara
  12. Yazmin Lacey - I'll Never Stop Loving You
  13. Fieh - Armageddon
  14. Mr Jukes - Maiden Voyage
  15. Shabaka Hutchings - Prints Tie
  16. Melt Yourself Down - Carribean Fire Dance
  17. Emma-Jean Thackray - Speak No Evil / Night Dreamer