VA- Red, Gold, Green & Blue

VA- Red, Gold, Green & Blue

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Trojan

Released 7/12/19

The conceptual adventure that became a compilation, Red, Gold, Green and Blue calls on the black cream of Jamaican artistry, generations of talent spanning decades. Completing a circle, the classic American blues songs performed here, bring out an intriguing tonality in this record’s top-notch selection of already flavor-ful voices, familiar and brand new. This modern anthology throws down a creative challenge: how will today’s great Jamaican artists, themselves descendants of captured Africans, reinterpret African-American blues songs written and sung by artists who are effectively their own long-lost family? To answer this question, here’s the first release on a new label, Trojan Jamaica. Co-founders Zak Starkey and his partner, musician/producer Sshh Liguz, with their island allies, are taking the veteran UK reggae imprint and hurtling it headlong into the future. These voices help make the island great. This disc is a missing link that helps to try and bind a fractured African diaspora. Each of the idiosyncratic tracks reborn here represents the sort of pan-African vision that fired MARCUS GARVEY, BOB MARLEY, ANGELA DAVIS. Wherever they came from, stolen Africans had no control over where the slaveships would make them disembark. But whether it was New Orleans or Kingston, Jamaica, the music they brought with them would survive, against all odds, evolve, elevate and actually change global culture. This record is in some measure a tribute to their resilience and brilliance.

Track Listing:

  1. I Put a Spell on You - By Mykal Rose
  2. Bring It on Home - By Robbie Shakespeare
  3. Come on in My Kitchen - By Freddie McGregor
  4. Baby Please Don't Go - By Phylea Carley
  5. Temperature - By Big Youth
  6. Wang Dang Doodle / Oh Well - By SSHH Liguz & Robbie Shakespeare
  7. 44 Blues - By Mykal Rose
  8. Man of the World - By Toots and the Maytals
  9. Bad Luck Shadow - By Mykal Rose
  10. Don't Go No Further - By Andrew Tosh
  11. Just Your Fool - By Robbie Shakespeare
  12. Gunslinger - By Big Youth
  13. Sun Is Shining - By Kiddus I