Valerie June- The Order Of Time

Valerie June- The Order Of Time

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Concord

Released 2017

VALERIE JUNE’s eagerly awaited second album, The Order of Time, justifies the immense promise she exhibited on her acclaimed debut, Pushin’ Against A Stone.  Unfolding like a novella, JUNE sketches detailed, three-dimensional portraits of real people struggling with dreams, defeat, hope and life, in this 12-track song cycle. Musically, the genre-defying singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist has redefined herself again, infusing inspirations like TOM WAITS, NINA SIMONE, LEONARD COHEN and FELA KUTI into her unique blend of folk, blues, gospel and soul.  As in life, a harrowing bite of bitterness can surely be felt in many of these songs and on others; June’s ethereal soundscapes prove the perfect setting for her honeyed, childlike voice as she pleas for simplicity and a better world.

Track listing:

  1. Long Lonely Road
  2. Love You Once Made
  3. Shake Down
  4. If and
  5. Man Done Wrong
  6. The Front Door
  7. Astral Plane
  8. Just in Time
  9. With You
  10. Slip Slide on By
  11. Two Hearts
  12. Got Soul