War On Drugs- Wagonwheel Blues

War On Drugs- Wagonwheel Blues

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Secretly Canadian

Released 2008

Their songs recall the 80s guitar army of SONIC YOUTH with the captivating lyrics and vocal stylings of TOM PETTY or BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN. Walls of guitar - acoustic, electric, twelve string - douse each track of this debut, threatening to cast the band into space rock territory, but the melodies and immediately identifiable lyrics keep these songs grounded. It's one of those albums that each of us holds onto tightly. They get moved from apartment to apartment through the years; they're songs on the radio that follow us from town to town. They evoke waves of nostalgia and grow more poignant with each new bump along the road.

Track listing:

  1. Arms Like Boulders
  2. Taking the Farm
  3. Coast Reprise
  4. Buenos Aires Beach
  5. There Is No Urgency
  6. Needle in Your Eye #16
  7. Reverse the Charges
  8. Show Me the Coast
  9. Barrel of Batteries